Baxter names team for Zambia clash

Cape Town – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart
has announced his starting line-up for the first leg of the third and
last round of the 2018 CHAN qualifier against Zambia.

Baxter has been
forced to make several changes from the previous round when they defeated
Botswana 2-0 in the second leg at the Moruleng Stadium.

Bruce Bvuma retains
his place goals to earn his second cap while captain Mario
Booysen and left back Tercious Malepe are the only othert survivors from the last

They will be joined
by Asavela Mbekile at right back, while Sandile Mthethwa gets his first start
in Bafana Bafana colours as he will play alongside Booysen, who will be playing
his sixth consecutive match since making his debut in the COSAFA Castle Cup
tournament in July this year.

Mbekile last played
for Bafana Bafana in November 2016 in an international friendly match against
Mozambique, and will be earning his fifth cap for South Africa.

Sibusiso Khumalo,
Jabulani Shongwe and Jamie Webber will occupy the midfield, and will be
assisted by forwards Ryan Moon, Dumisani Zuma and Gift Motupa.

Shongwe’s last
appearance in the South African Senior Men’s National Team was in San Pedro
Sula in the 1-1 international friendly match against Honduras in 2015.

The quartet of
Webber, Zuma, Motupa and Mthethwa were on the bench in the second leg clash
against Botswana. Motupa will earn his ninth cap to become the highest capped

Five uncapped
players have been named on the bench – Lindokuhle Mntambo, Thabo Lingwati,
Masilake Phohlongo, Steven Hoffman (GK) as well as Wiseman Meyiwa who only
arrived in camp on Thursday (10 August). Also starting on the bench will be
Menzi Masuku and Siphelele Ntshangase, who started against Botswana in the
return leg.

South Africa and
Zambia meet this afternoon (Saturday, 12 August) at Buffalo City Stadium in
East London.

Kick off is at

Bafana Bafana
starting XI vs Zambia:

Bruce Bvuma (GK),
Asavela Mbekile, Tercious Malepe, Mario Booysen (captain), Sandile Mthethwa, Sibusiso
Kumalo, Jabulani Shongwe, Jamie Webber, Ryan Moon, Dumisani Zuma, Gift Motupa


Steven Hoffman (GK),
Menzi Masuku, Siphelele Ntshangase, Linda Mntambo, Wiseman Meyiwa, Thato
Lingwati, Masilake Phohlongo

Spread the love

Leave a Reply